Grieving the Child I Never Knew | A Devotional for Comfort in the Loss of Your Unborn or Newly Born Child

_240_360_Book.1793.coverGrieving the Child I Never Knew” is a devotional for any mom that has suffered a loss of their unborn or newly born baby. I think this is a great devotional for anyone who has suffered a loss…no matter what stage you were at.

I had a miscarriage at 11 weeks. It was early on, but it was still a loss. I had wanted another baby ever since my son (now 9) was a year old. I was on and off birth control over the years for various reasons. In 2013, we moved from Louisiana to Florida. Within, 6 months of moving here I found out that I was pregnant. I was so excited and scared at the same time. I had a “feeling” that something was wrong. Anyone that really “knows” me knows that when I get these feelings they are real. I saw my doctor to confirm I was pregnant. Everything looked good. At 9 weeks, I went in for my first ultrasound. My husband and mother-in-law were there with me. I knew something was wrong because the ultrasound technician kept moving the wand around looking for the heartbeat. She asked if I was sure about my dates. I was sure. She left the room for a few minutes and then returned. She said that I was measuring 6 weeks and there was no heartbeat. I had no words…I just remember crying. Why was this happening to me? We waited for this for so long.  Over the next couple weeks, I had to go in for blood work several times. The doctor wanted to make sure that my HCG levels were indeed dropping and I was experiencing a miscarriage. Around 11 weeks, is when my body finally miscarried. I had a lot of cramping that was pretty bad so I went to the emergency room. I miscarried while there. I ended up loosing a lot of blood and they thought I was going to need a blood transfusion. My blood pressure dropped really low. I was transferred to another hospital and had to have a D&C….I didn’t want one, but it was the only way to stop the bleeding. I think that was the longest day of my life.

No matter what stage you were at when you suffered your loss….it matters! Even though I suffered my miscarriage early on, it mattered, we grieve. This book is beautifully written and the author gives you 8 different ways to read the book. She even gives you reading for special days or needs. The book is broken up into 7 parts…..31 days of readings. At the end of the book you will find a discussion guide and special prayers for those special days.

  • Part 1: Hiding
  • Part 2: Suffering
  • Part 3: Questioning
  • Part 4: Forgiving
  • Part 5: Relating
  • Part 6: Seeking
  • Part 7: Sharing Your Story

This devotional has a presentation page and would make a great gift for someone that has suffered the loss.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

