Double Flip Waffle Maker

12489343_556430554522341_7962229939622887114_oI was so excited Friday afternoon when the UPS showed up. I knew he was delivering my NEW Double Flip Waffle Maker! I’ve never made homemade waffles before….I never had a waffle maker before. Normally, I just take a waffle out of the freezer and pop it into the toaster.

I decided that Saturday morning, I would make waffles for breakfast. As long as I made it out of bed to get them made. I’m still sick, and well my bed has seeing me a lot these days. I searched for a good recipe for waffles and a friend recommend one to me.

Classic Waffles-found on AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1   1/2 cups warm milk
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder and sugar; set aside. Preheat waffle iron to desired temperature.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in the milk, butter and vanilla. Pour the milk mixture into the flour mixture; beat until blended.
  3. Ladle the batter into a pre-heated waffle iron. Cook the waffles until golden and crisp. Serve immediately.

I managed to get out of bed on Saturday morning….well it was around 10 a.m., and I didn’t feel like making breakfast, but I wanted those waffles. I started mixing the batter while my husband browsed through the user’s manual and got the waffle maker ready to cook the waffles.  I LOVE that the waffle plates only had to be oiled once….even though I was making more than one batch of waffles.

The booklet said to ladle in one scoop of batter or 3/4 cup into the waffle maker to make one waffle. Well…I always over do it, because itC-_Users_Crystal_AppData_Local_Microsoft_Windows_Temporary-Internet-Files_Content never looks like I have enough of anything. So I added more. This is what happens when you do that. Good thing that this waffle maker comes with a drip tray….it kept my counter nice and clean, even though I made a mess.

This waffle maker has dual cooking plates…that means that I can cook two waffles at one time! First, you put your batter in the first side, wait about 10 seconds and flip using the cool-touch handles. Then you add batter to the other side. Let them cook for 3-4. Once they are done…you will see a beautiful waffle with extra-deep grids, perfect to add all of your favorite toppings!

2

My waffles came out so awesome and beautiful! There are a couple more great features of this waffle maker. It has a handle lock…this is great for when you are cooking your waffles and/or rotating them, you want to make sure to keep the plates closed. It also had indicator lights. When you plug in your waffle maker a red indicator light will come on…it will stay on until you unplug it. A green indicator light means that it is time to cook!

The clean up process what so easy. For the drip tray, I just washed it with soap and water. The drippings were not stuck to it. For the waffle maker it self…there wasn’t much to do. This is 4what the plates looked like after making two waffles on each side. Nothing was left behind. I just used a wet soapy cloth to clean the plates and the outside of the waffle maker. I then used a dry cloth to dry it good. Now it’s ready to use again.

I am loving my new waffle maker and I can’t wait to make more. My son wants me to make some with chocolate chips inside and I want to add blueberries to mine. I can’t believe I went all of these years without a waffle maker.

Want to find out more about this waffle maker, you can find it here.

Disclaimer: I received this product from the Spectrum Brands/First Look program for an honest review. I was not required to write a blog post and all opinions found here are my own.

Leave a Reply

