The 10 Myths of Teen Dating

358557d1-053f-4496-92b6-c182effceef3
Let me tell you a little story: I never dated when I was a teen! I was never taught how I should be treated by guys or anything like that. What I know was learned by living with my grandparents. I saw how my grandfather treated my grandmother and I knew that is what I wanted. I saw how my mom was treated by guys and I knew that I never wanted to experience that. I was 20 when I had my first date….yes, you read that right…I was 20 when I had my first date and my first kiss. I lot of people are surprised when I tell them that, but it is the truth. I married the first guy that I dated and kissed.

When I saw this book I knew that I needed to read it. There are things that I need to know. The girls in our youth group come to me when they need someone to talk to. I need to make sure that I am giving them the right information. A lot of the things in the book were things that I knew, but I love that I was able to read experiences from others.

The 10 Myths of Teen Dating: Truths Your Daughter Needs to Know to Date Smart, Avoid Disaster, and Protect Her Future (David C Cook, September 2016)

There’s no greater moment of panic in a parent’s life than when their daughter begins to date.

Due to their lack of knowledge about the world their teens face coupled with the scant dating information they received as teens, many parents feel ill-equipped to guide their daughters through the minefield that is teen dating.

And by the same token, teenage girls crave information about dating and relationships. And left to their own devices, many will develop their own assumptions about dating by talking to their friends or watching the latest TV shows and movies. But that will only lead them down a path toward heartbreak.

So how do you engage your daughter in discussions about dating, relationships, and her future happiness? Expert educator Daniel Anderson and his twenty something daughter, Jacquelyn, help you navigate the biggest dating myths, including: the myth that a boyfriend will make your daughter happy, that she should trust her feelings, or that sex will enhance her relationship. Combining the latest scientific research with poignant personal stories, as well as proven truths and practical application, The 10 Myths of Teen Dating will equip you to teach your daughter how to date smart for today . . . and tomorrow.

Since reading this book, I have loaned it to a mom of a dating teen in our youth group. I will continue to pass it on to other parents. I am so happy to have his book and be able to share it with other moms. You never know….I may need this information for my own children one day and I will equipped to guide them.

About the Authors: Daniel Anderson is a former college All-American basketball player, an expert educator, and a father of two grown daughters and a son. As a veteran high school teacher in the public school system, Daniel was troubled by how his students approached dating and relationships. He and his daughter, Jacquelyn Anderson—a twenty something and also a high school teacher—decided to address this need by equipping parents with The 10 Myths of Teen Dating, their first book together. Daniel and Jacquelyn both make their home in Portland, Oregon.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

